Ishka Blog


Energy Healing: A Beginner's Guide to the 7 Chakras

Energy Healing: A Beginner's Guide to the 7 Chakras

Energy is everywhere - the universe is made of it, and so are we! 

And because energy is at the core of our being, maintaining the flow of energy through our bodies can be the key to living a healthy, harmonious life. This is where the seven chakras come in.

Chakra is the sanskrit word for ‘wheel’, the life-force that spins and rotates inside of us. This spinning energy has seven main centres located throughout your body - beginning from the base of your spine, and travelling to the top of your head.

When your seven chakras are in a healthy and balanced state, energy will flow abundantly to every part of your body, mind, and spirit. However, if one of your chakras becomes blocked or imbalanced, this can have a negative impact on your health and wellbeing.

Here we've put together a useful guide so you can learn about each chakra and perform your own energy healing work.

chakra healing guide

chakra gemstones


The 1st Chakra - Base Chakra

Located at the base of the spine, the first chakra is the foundation of our whole system on which all other chakras rest. Located closest to the Earth, the Base Chakra is related to our physical body, material existence and our ability to recognise and meet our needs for sustenance and survival. 

When balanced: You will feel satisfied and content in relation to finances, relationships and personal safety.

When blocked or imbalanced: You will feel fearful, defensive and prone to procrastination.

Colour: Red

Affirmations: “I feel deeply rooted and connected to my body.”  “I feel safe and secure.”

base chakra healing


The 2nd Chakra - Sacral Chakra

The second chakra extends from the top of the pelvic bone to the belly button. Encompassing the small and large intestines and the reproductive system in a woman, the sacral chakra is associated with movement, water, creativity, desire and emotion.

When balanced: You will enjoy and be inspired by all the pleasures of life; good food, sex and creative pursuits - leaving you feeling nourished and whole.

When blocked or imbalanced: You will feel restless, lacking in creativity and less able to maintain healthy control of your desires.

Colour: Orange 

Affirmations: “I have healthy boundaries.”  “I love and enjoy my body.” 

sacral chakra meditation

sacral chakra mudra 

The 3rd Chakra - Solar Plexus

The third chakra is located at the solar plexus between the navel and the base of the sternum. The Solar Plexus chakra is the centre of personal identity and the seat of the ego. This chakra rules our sense of our self worth, self esteem, and personal identity. 

When balanced: You will be in tune with your ‘inner warrior’, and will feel a great sense of wisdom, decisiveness, and personal power.

When blocked or imbalanced: You are likely to feel quick to anger, over-controlling and lack compassion for others. You may also suffer from digestive issues.

Colour: Yellow

Affirmations: “I am strong and courageous.” “I am worthy of love, kindness and respect.” 

solar plexus chakra healing


The 4th Chakra - Heart Chakra 

The fourth chakra is located at the heart. This is the spiritual centre, our core, the place that unites forces from above and below. The Heart Chakra is associated with self-reflection, personal freedom, unconditional love, unity and balance. 

When balanced: You can easily feel and accept love for yourself and others. Even in challenging times, you will recognise compassion and kindness in others.

When blocked or imbalanced: You may lose touch of your personal boundaries and make unhealthy choices, and are likely to experience relationship issues.

Colour: Green

Affirmations: “I love and accept myself, and am open to love from others.”  “I love the beauty of nature and the world around me.” 

heart chakra meditation

heart chakra healing


The 5th Chakra - Throat Chakra 

The fifth chakra is the centre related to communication and self-expression through sound. Sound, as a vibration and a force inherent in all things, has a purifying nature. The Throat Chakra is located in the region of the neck and shoulders, and is related to truth, communication, telepathy and creativity.

When balanced: You will have the ability to articulate your truth, and speak clearly with love, kindness. Your positive energy and words will inspire those around you.

When blocked or imbalanced: You will have the tendency to speak before you think, and have difficulty expressing yourself. You may find yourself interrupting others to be heard.

Colour: Blue

Affirmations: “I am open, clear and honest in my communication.”  “I communicate my feelings with ease.”

throat chakra healing

throat chakra healing


The 6th Chakra - Third Eye Chakra

The sixth chakra is located in the centre of the head behind the forehead, hence the term ‘brow chakra’. The function of the Third Eye Chakra is inner and outer seeing, and represents our ability to self-reflect, dream, imagine and tune in to our intuition.

When balanced: You will feel attuned to your higher self, and equally connected to your physical body and world. You may be open to receiving psychic information and gain spiritual clarity.

When blocked or imbalanced: You will have difficulties with concentration, and likely become indecisive and anxious about the future. Your ability to be present will be affected.

Colour: Indigo

Affirmations:  “I am in touch with my inner guidance.”  “I seek to understand and learn from life’s experiences.” 

third eye chakra healing 

The 7th Chakra - Crown Chakra 

The seventh chakra is located at the crown of our head and is the infinitely profound seat of cosmic consciousness. The Crown Chakra provides access to divine intelligence, is the source of all manifestation and is related to spirituality, clarity, inspiration and positivity.

When balanced: You will feel connected to your higher self, and aware of yourself as a spiritual being. You will have a greater acceptance and understanding of the human experience.

When blocked or imbalanced: You will feel disconnected to your higher self. You may feel a sense of hopelessness and despair, and struggle to surrender to what is outside of your control.

Colour: Violet

Affirmations: “I am part of the divine, and honour the divine within me.” “I have gratitude for all that is good in my life.” 

third eye chakra healing

crown chakra healing


Explore the ISHKA chakra collection or leave a comment below if you have any tips you'd like to share on chakra healing...x

Follow Us

Comment 1
  • The hand gestures are genuine and relatable to yoga positions to resonate the balance of chakras.

    Ashish Nair
Leave a comment
Message *

Previous Blog Article

Winter Solstice Candle Ceremony

Read more

Next Blog Article

The Ancient Practice of Burning Sage

Read more